Skip to main content
EMS Software, LLC

Editing a Booking in the Navigator

When you edit a booking in the Navigator, you are working with the when and where information for the event: the event time, the event location, and so on. To edit a booking, you must have the appropriate security access. For example, you cannot move a booking to a room if your EMS administrator has not granted you access to the room. Likewise, you cannot change the status for a booking from Tentative to Confirmed if your EMS administrator has not granted you access to the Confirmed status.

Tips: To edit billable information for a booking, See Also: Editing Booking Detail Item Charges for Multiple Items
You can also edit certain booking information in the Reservation Book. See Also: Editing a Booking.

If you cannot edit the booking although you have appropriate access rights, it may be locked.

  1. Open the parent reservation for the booking in the Navigator
  2. In left pane of the Navigator, expand the folder structure for the reservation until the appropriate booking folder is visible and select the booking you wish to edit. The panes on the right refresh to show information for that booking.

  3. On the Booking Summary tab or on the Properties tab, click Edit. The Booking window opens. A message is displayed at the top of the window that indicates the hours for the building that contains the selected room. If the booking has any type of booking detail assigned to it, then “This Booking has Service Orders” is displayed at the top of the window.
    emsum_Navigator_image028.png

Tip: If you change the status for a booking, you can select Update Reservation Status to update the reservation-level status to match.

  1. On the Booking tab, edit the information for the booking as needed, and then click OK
  • If you edited anything other than the date, time, or location, the Booking window closes and you return to the Navigator, which now shows the updated information for the booking.
  • If you cancel a booking, a Cancel Status dialog box opens in which you must identify the user who canceled the booking and provide notes (for example, a cancelation reason) about the cancelation.
  • If you edited the date, time, or location for a booking, a dialog box opens, warning you that critical booking information has changed and asking you if you want to continue. Click Yes. The Booking window closes and you return to the Navigator, which now shows the updated information for the booking.

Note: Any date and time changes you make to the booking automatically cascade to all related bookings.

Tip: If you reserve a resource and then edit the date, time, location, or status of a booking, and there is a resource inventory conflict, a Resource Inventory Conflicts report opens next. If you close this report, you can manually run a Resource Inventory Conflict check. In the Bookings folder of the Navigator, select Tools > Resource Inventory Conflict.