Skip to main content
EMS Software, LLC

Overview of Defining and Editing Courses

After the Domain Scheduler has imported a term and synchronized the courses for the term, he/she has the option of selecting the mode for the term. Each mode is optional, but each mode provides mode-specific functionality so that the mode can be carried out. Organizations use the Define & Edit mode to solicit information about new, changed, or canceled courses, or course dates for a term. Additionally, courses that share space can be indicated. After the academic units enter this information, the Domain Scheduler can run reports and based on the information in the reports, make the selected modifications in the SIS.

1. The Domain Scheduler enables Define & Edit Mode. See Enabling/Disabling a Term for Define & Edit Mode”.

2. Academic units review the course schedule data, make change requests as appropriate for new, edited, and/or canceled courses, and mark those courses that share space. See Reviewing and Editing Coursesand Working with Shared Space”.

3. The Domain Scheduler generates and reviews the Course Change report, enters the needed modifications into the SIS, and resynchronizes the courses. See Synchronizing Courses”.

4. The Domain Scheduler reviews and/or indicates the shared space settings. See Working with Shared Space”.

emsum_EMSCampus_small_reminder.png

When you are defining and editing courses, you have the option of selecting Define and Edit mode, or Dual mode. Dual mode enables a term for both Define & Edit Mode and Set Preference mode at the same time. If you select Define and Edit mode, then the steps that you carry out during this mode are distinct and unique from the steps that you carry out in the next mode, which is the Set Preferences mode. Although these two modes are presented as distinct modes and discussed in two separate sections in this manual, if you select Dual mode, then the steps listed in both these sections are applicable at the same time.