Skip to main content
EMS Software, LLC

Deleting Old Data

As the EMS administrator, you can delete bookings, historical data, email history, holidays, building hours, notifications, and if applicable, EMS Kiosk transactions that occur on or before a specific date. You can also delete unused groups, contacts and web users (groups, contacts, and web users who have no associated records in your EMS database). If you delete all the bookings for a reservation, the reservation is also deleted from the EMS database. As a safeguard, it is a system requirement that the date that you specify for bookings, historical data, email history, holidays, building hours, or notifications be at least three months prior to the current day’s date.

emssg_SysAdminTools_ExclamationPoint.png

Before using the Delete Old Data utility, make a backup of your EMS database. Deletion of data using this utility is a permanent deletion and you can recover the data only by using a backup copy of your EMS database.

To delete old data

1. On the EMS menu bar, click System Administration > Tools > Delete Old Data.

The Delete Old Data dialog box opens.

Delete Old Data dialog box

emssg_SysAdminTools_image034.png

2. Select that data that is being deleted, and then, if applicable enter the on/or before deletion date.

emssg_SysAdminTools_small_reminder.png

The date that you specify for bookings, historical data, email history, holidays, building hours, notifications, and /or kiosk transactions must be at least three months prior to the current day’s date.

3. Click OK.

A message opens indicating that deleting this data is a permanent action and asking you if it is OK to continue.

emssg_SysAdminTools_small_reminder.png

Remember, if you delete all the bookings for a reservation, the reservation is also deleted from the EMS database; however, no message opens indicating that the reservation was also deleted.

4. Click Yes.

A message opens when all the data is deleted.

5. Click OK.